Whitbread Mackeson Clone – Bottle Day

Well after 2 weeks sat in the primary, the beer was bottled yesterday. I’d love to say it went flawlessly… but that’d be a lie.

This whole brewing process could’ve gone smoother this time around if I’m honest – quite a few things have not gone according to plan. So if the end product ends up tasting a bit off, it will be hard to narrow down why!

Sanitising

Sanitising Home Brew Bottles

The Beer Bottle Tree

On the plus side, I got to use my new bottle draining tree contraption today, which was kind of fun for the first few minutes.

I’d forgotten how tedious it can be sterilising bottles, but at least thanks to the tree I could get them all sorted in a one-er – in the past I had to steralise and rinse in batches as room is not in abundance in our humble abode.The Bottles

Found out something quite fun(!) halfway through the process, some of the bottles I had saved for home brew just were not compatible with my capper. I believe that it must be something to do with the width of the bottle neck, but certain styles just did not work.

Thankfully I had only filled one such bottle up when this became clear… there is a series of number running around the base of most the bottles and – I’ll need to look into this in more detail – I think using these numbers I can tell in the future what shop-bought beer bottles I can reuse.

Silly Errors

Right from the start I could tell it wasn’t going to be my day – despite my bottling soundtrack coming courtesy of the brilliant Creedance Clearwater Revival.

I’m not sure if it was because I only had 15 litres of beer, but the pump action on my siphoning tube just did not get the flow going. I tried for about two minutes, perhaps more vigorously than I should have and thus kicked up some of the yeast cake at the bottom.

Due to this, I siphoned some of the beer at the start into a glass – to catch the unwanted cack.

A couple of spills and bottle issues later, the majority of the beer was safely stored in the bottles. With just a litre of two left I made my second stupid mistake. I slightly tipped the fermentor to one side – placing a hair gel pot underneath the bin to keep the level askew.

In my mind I thought that this would be a good way to get as much beer out of the fermentation bucket as possible… instead it just dislodged a few hearty chunks of yeast cake. So the last three bottles have caps marked with ‘S’ for sediment (see them there in the bottom right of the image).

These bottles will need to be poured carefully… and probably only once the rest have been consumed.

26 Bottles of Home Brew Beer

26 Bottles of Home Brew Beer

Waiting

Now all that is left to do is wait for the beer to mature. I had a blip with the temperature back when the beer was fermenting (it got WAY too high) so I am a bit dubious as to how the batch will turn out. It did go from a O.G. of 1.042 to a F.G. of 1.010 though, so at least I didn’t kill the yeast (rhyme).

My plan is to leave the bottles at least a month before I give them a test – giving the flavour and components a good chance to mellow out.

As for now, I’ll need to start planning what I want to do next. Seen as we’ve had an unprecedented 3-4 days of sun up here in Penicuik I am leaning towards trying an IPA next. Something nice to sup whilst sat out in the garden…

Categories: Extract Brewing | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Whitbread Mackeson Clone – Bottle Day

  1. Pingback: Whitbread Mackeson Clone – Tasting | Bard's Brewery

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Jan Harding

Artist in my Spare Time...

broadfordbrewer

The proof is in the drinking

The Apartment Homebrewer

Brewing small batches of craft beer in a 650 sqft apartment

Bier Battered [.] com

Cheesey Movies & Craft Beer Pairings, brews from New Jersey and beyond

We make home brew

A blog about tasty home brew and beer.

It's that Craig Heap guy

A Welsh Beer Blogger celebrating the great ales of Wales

Blogging at World of Beer

the temporary home of Stephen Beaumont's World of Beer

Oh Good Ale

Phil's beer blog

Tim Hampson's Beer Blog

The quest for the perfect beer

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

The Mostly Harmless Brewing Co.

Homebrewing in The ATL

Zythophile

'Zee-tho-fyle', by Martyn Cornell, an award-winning blog about beer now and then, founded in 2007

sounds like beer

Beer & Music. Nothing Else Matters

I Think About Beer

& I Think About Cider - Belgian Beer & European Cider

The BeerCast

Scotland's beer website

The Good Stuff

Good Food. Good Beer. Good People.

beeRevolution

Brewer with a Brewery Problem. Tui, Fyne Ales, Thornbridge, Epic, Good George, Brew Mountain and Fork & Brewer.

Jotham Brewing

the musings of an amateur home brewer

The Beer Nerd

A Diary Written With Beer

Alebagger's Beer Blog

Alebagger's exploration of the world of ale, pubs, brewing and all things beery.

Beers are a Changin

Exploring the best craft beers and brewers in Australia

Beersay

Beersay - unverified, unofficial information gained or acquired from various sources or sauces about beer.....probably

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

Multi award-winning beer writer and author

Alcohol And Aphorisms

Whisky and Beer Discussion In A Relaxed, Yet Slightly Pretentious Fashion

Good Beer Better Hats

Our Hats are Off to You! ~Cheers~

Barley's Homebrewing Supplies

101-455 East Columbia St, New Westminster, B.C., Canada - 604.553.1941

latenightalesblog

A detailed blog following my homebrew and craft beer endeavors

Jay's Brewing Blog

Tips, tricks, hacks and more for everyting you need to make great beer, wine and mead.

Chris Hall | Beer

Craft. People. Places. Stories. Culture.

Craft Beer Reviews & Commentary by HomeBrewedHero

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

leedsbrew

Beer brewing in Leeds

Apuhihi View

Thoughts from a previous coast (Mostly about my home-brew adventures)

Learning to Craft Beer

Making craft beer is one of the best hobbies ever. Let's talk about it.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.